To view compere Duff Eynon announce the winners and share some information about why they have been recognised please visit the Crawley Borough Council YouTube Channel on https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7HxDX-2zyVaN7Y_bbyv-IN69Cn8sCLHW

Alternatively, scroll down below for a full list of winners.  Congratulations to all our winners, shortlisted nominees and all those who were nominated.  

The Crawley Community Awards are organised by Crawley Borough Council in association with The Hawth and The Crawley Observer and supported by Headline Sponsor London Gatwick Airport.  The awards recognise and reward people who live, work, volunteer or study in the Crawley District who give up their time, talents and skills to help and support others in their community and those who have trained, worked and put all their efforts into making real achievements.

Now in their fifth year, the Crawley Community Awards are hugely popular attracting hundreds of nominations each year.  This is a clear reflection of the wonderful community spirit that exists in Crawley and the appreciation that local people have for those who go the extra mile to make a difference to their community.

Nominations were invited for teams and individuals across sixteen different categories representing everything from volunteering and charities through to education and sports.  Nominators do not need to live in the Crawley District but nominees must either live, work, volunteer or study within the district or provide a service open to Crawley residents outside the immediate area.

Over the past four years, more than 1200 nominations have been received but there was only space for 70 winners.  

Particular thanks go to all this year’s sponsors for their contribution to ensuring so many  who have worked so hard and given so much to our community were recognised.

Headline Sponsor – London Gatwick Airport

  • Metrobus
  • Arora Hotel, Crawley and Gatwick
  • Everyone Active, K2 Crawley
  • CITB
  • Blakedown Landscapes
  • County Mall
  • Optime Group

Congratulations to our 2020 winners:

  • Fundraiser – Patrick McIntosh, St. Catherine’s Hospice
  • Community Group – Crawley Town Community Foundation
  • Environment – Thomas Simpson, Gatwick Greenspace Partnership
  • Graham Cridland – West Sussex & Surrey Angling Academy
  • Sports Team – Crawley Parkour
  • Sports Person – Karl Youngman, Storm Basketball Foundation
  • Performing Arts – Louise Ryrie School of Dance and Drama
  • Special Recognition – Robert Groves
  • Education – Katie Jordan, Oriel High School
  • Charity – Crawley Open House
  • Volunteer – Katie Schollar
  • Volunteer Group – Upon Butterfly Wings
  • Support Group – Super Siblings
  • Achievement – Farah Ali Khan, Member of UK Youth Parliament
  • Group Achievement – XIX Crawley RAF Cadets 19th Squadron
  • Local Hero – Nicholas Hahn, Crawley Devils Football Club

Congratulations to our 2019 winners:

  • Support Group : Refugees Welcome – Crawley
  • Local Hero : Jane Green, Sussex Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome
  • Community Group : CanDo@K2
  • Culture : Crawley Museum
  • Sports Team : Hawth Gymnastics Senior Men
  • Sports Person : Peter Bennett, Crawley Athletics Club
  • Special Recognition : Christopher Oakley & Stuart Adesilu
  • Performing Arts : Wimbledon Palais Ukulele Band
  • Education: Anne Woodburn, Bewbush Academy
  • Charity : Greenaway Residential Foundation
  • Volunteer : Dennis Murray, St. Catherine’s Hospice
  • Volunteer Group : Young Leaders, Oriel Youth Club
  • Pride of Crawley : Gareth Southgate, England Football Manager
  • Achievement : Marilyn Drury, The Olive Tree, Crawley Hospital
  • Group Achievement : Young Crawley
  • Inspiration : Ben Hulme, Bootcamps
  • Fundraising : The Mark Lay Foundation